Click Here For Coupon Codes!
Advertise On UGHH
Return To HomepageCUSTOMER SERVICE: 1-617-262-0200 STORE FRONT: 234 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115 (Tues-Sat 12PM-8PM)

nana vasconcelos 4 elementos

Nana Vasconcelos: 4 Elementos

List Price:$19.98
You Save:$3.01 (15%)
Add to cart

Not available for in-store pick-up

  • Digipack
Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to PinterestEmail This

Product Details

  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
  • Record Label: Far Out Recordings
  • Barcode: 5060211501609
  • Item #: FARO177CD


"4 Elementos" or "Four elements" is a gem that comes as a follow up to Naná's incredible 'Sinfonia & Batuques', winner of a Latin Grammy in 2011. This new offering breaks many boundaries and reveals Brazil's most revered percussionist in his best form yet. Naná Vasconcelos creates and shapes sounds and ideas in his original compositions, with inventive and provocative results. On '4 Elementos' the listener is invited to join Vasconcelos on a deep and emotional musical journey. The album is released and sponsored by the Government of Pernambuco, through Funcultura, with the executive production of Isa Melo from Coco Produções in partnership with Morenana Produções Artísticas and Far Out Recordings.

Inspired by the four elements of nature, the percussion legend Naná Vasconcelos has created a beautiful and hypnotic record. Flowing from the stunning lyricism of 'Légua Tirana', a classic by the Brazilian legend Luiz Gonzaga, to 'Coco Lunar', where Vasconcelos visualises a party in the cosmos, showcasing Brazilian rhythm in all its colour and vibrancy. In 'Berimbando' Naná goes back to his beloved Berimbau and pays a beautiful homage to the percussionist Airto Moreira.

'Nizinga', was part of the original soundtrack of the 2007 movie 'Nizinga' directed by Octávio Bezerra. The theme of happiness in an earthly environment is strong, with its abundant instrumentation and choir. This then sets the mood for the next song, which is an eulogy to the singer Clementina de Jesus. Composed by Naná when he was visiting the Isle of Gorée, in Senegal, one of the biggest slave trade centres of the African continent and the starting point for many Brazilian slaves. Centuries afterwards, this song brings to the listener the African chant and spirit amalgamated with Brazilian musical energy.

The head of Far Out Record's Joe Davis' first met Nana when Joe rescued and reissued the stunning and previously unreleased first part of a trilogy project 'Visions of Dawn', an acid-folk album recorded in Paris in 1976 by three Brazilian music legends, Naná Vasconcelos (percussion), Mauricio Maestro (bass, vocals, guitar and producer) and Joyce (vocals). Following this incredible discovery, Joe was determined to bring Naná's music to a much broader audience and with 4 Elementos, this successful partnership is revived, much to the delight of listeners and lovers of Brazilian music all over the world.

Nana vasconcelos has previously played with artist such as Pat Metheny, Milton Nascimento, Joyce, Ron Carter, Don Cherry, Melvin Gibbs, Jack DeJohnette and many many more.

Track Listing

1. Légua Tirana
2. Terráqueos – Vida – Bushdance Vinheta Fogo
3. Nizinga
4. Clementina
5. Astronáfrica
6. Coco Lunar Vinheta Fogo
7. Chorágua
8. Berimbando
9. Passos
10. Fogo

More Items From: Nana Vasconcelos & Far Out Recordings

Reviews and Comments

Your Name:

Location (City, Country):

How Many Stars Do You Give This Item?

Review This Item:

Review Guidelines:
• The recommended review length is 75 to 300 words.
• Your review should focus on specific reasons you like this item.
• The best reviews include not only whether you liked or disliked this item, but also why.

What not to include:
• Commenting on other reviews visible on the page. Other reviews and their position on the page are subject to change without notice.
• Profanity, obscenities, or spiteful remarks.
• Single-word reviews. We want to know why you liked or disliked the item.
• Phone numbers, mail addresses, URLs.
Type to the left to leave a comment about this item - your comment will show right here!
Order Processing Details:
Overnight: Guaranteed delivery 1 to 2 business days after processing.
Priority: Estimated delivery 2 to 3 business days after processing.
First Class: Estimated delivery 3 to 4 business days after processing (shipments under 13 oz. are given this option).
Standard: Estimated delivery 4 to 6 business days after processing.
Ground: Estimated delivery 5 to 7 business days after processing (shipments containing only music, videos or books are given this option).

For other frequently asked questions, please see our store help section.

PayPal Logo

Copyright ©1997-2014 LLC. All Rights Reserved.